Loves me more

Carrot and I were talking about her birthmom, and things she remembers from her house.

And, she told me her biomom loves her more than I do.

“Oh, what makes you say that?”

“She knew me first. So she loves me more.”

You can read all the adoption books you want. Somehow you think it won’t happen to you, or it wont’ hurt when your kid says it.

 

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Loves me more

  1. Beck says:

    I know it doesn’t help how it feels to hear the words*, but she doesn’t understand what “loves me more” means yet. She’s too young. As adults we know love isn’t measured in days or time – or really measured at all. Eventually, she’ll know which important things happened with which people, and because they loved her.
    *I imagine it’s something like hearing “I don’t love you. I love Daddy” or “I don’t like Grandpa”. It hurts.

  2. wishinghopingpraying says:

    I am so sorry. I can’t imagine how much that hurt. One day she will realize that no one has loved her more than you. ((Hugs))

  3. Mandy says:

    I’m sorry 😦 I thought I was prepared for that stuff, too, but I don’t think you can really ever be prepared to hear those types of things. They’ll always hurt.

  4. CIW says:

    Bless you.. HUGS.. She will understand the magnitude of your love as she grows…

  5. mommie2be says:

    yeah, it sucks. ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

