Hitting me hard

The kids had their final visit with their biomom on Friday. All things considered, it went very well. She was a little confused, and told Carrot we already adopted her. Which just confused the poor girl further.

And, it gave me hope that she would not appeal the judge’s decision.

Yesterday, I found out she did indeed file an appeal. Intellectually, I expected her to appeal. Emotionally, I was drained. Any hope of a summer adoption, Carrot starting first grade with a new last name was crushed.

We fully expected biomom to appeal, and told Carrot we would adopt her, but it might not be until after Christmas. She said if it was sooner “that would be a bonus.”

Last night, I
put Carrot to bed and fell asleep not long after.

I am not worried that the appeal will be granted. The adoption is a matter of “when” not “if.”

If this postponement hit me this hard, I can only imagine how far away and abstract it feels for Carrot.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hitting me hard

  1. wishinghopingpraying says:

    I am so sorry. It’s so hard when they drag out the inevitable. I hope finalization comes sooner rather than later. Hang in there. You are getting so close.

Leave a Reply

