Settling in

Something happened right around the six month mark of Carrot living here. A rigid, guarded little girl with an old lady middle name has relaxed into a funny, cuddly, affectionate kid.

Two hour bedtime shenanigans have calmed to a predictable routine. Ten days of good bedtimes earned a trip to old country buffet, another 30 days earned a trip to Chuck E. Cheese. And a new habit is formed.

She hasn’t told me “I am not her real mom” in weeks.

Last night, she asked Croi to turn up the volume on the T.V. Then, said, “that wasn’t very nice. Could I try that again? Mommy, will you please turn up the volume?”

We are having so much fun with her and her silly sense of humor.

Getting in the car, she was excited that I was going to sit on her side. I told her I am always on her side. She laughed and said, “not my back–I know you have my back.”

That’s right, kiddo. I do.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Settling in

  1. pepibebe says:

    Lovely. Long may it continue.

  2. Mandy A. says:

    swoon! Not like a romantic swoon, like a family kinda swoon! You know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

