Totally Makes Up For It

Zucchini and my mom were talking about their visit, and my mom asked what present Zucchini received from her mom.

Zucchini rolled her eyes and said, “A Barbie.” (The girls both got Barbies)

My mom said, “you aren’t excited about that?”

“Come on, I’m el-ev-en.”

I snickered.

And kept replaying that in my head as I wrapped the presents we bought for her. The grown-up art supplies she has been talking about. Clothes I know she will like. Things I know because we’ve been here. And she tells us.

After just a few months, I know the worries, hopes and fears she will share with us. And we are so fortunate to know a side of her that her mom never will. That’s my gift.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

