Alternate Realities

I have been thinking a lot about little Atticus lately. Maybe because Pumpkin is wearing some of the clothes Atticus wore when he was here, crawling in the dishwasher and dancing to the song of the alphabet magnets. [“every letter makes a sound and B says bah”]

From what we knew, his family was loving, and needed some very short term help. I hope.

Once a week, our kids go back to this alternate reality. A world where it is completely normal to meet your cousins at a McDonal.ds when a visitation worker brings them. A world where there is no stigma using your government cell phone, because everyone has one.

I can only imagine what it is like for my girls to go back and forth to this world. And I hope that one day they will be more adaptable for having done so.

I have high high hopes for my kids.

When I am doubting my capabilities to parent these kids, I remind myself that if they can graduate high school, not pregnant or drug addicted, they will have broken a family cycle.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

