Speechless

Five summers of my life in those woods, in that lake. Some of the best of who I am is because of my time at this camp. I met a nice girl, became friends, then really good friends, and then married her. Because of the light and the magic in those trees.

This weekend, I watched our children explore some untouched sky. Play in the same waters I played in. Had former campers tend to my children, and my children hold the hands of my friends children.

Somehow, the girls missed the times tears welled in our eyes. But, when we were leaving, Carrot asked “Mama Erat, why did you wipe your face like that? Are you crying?”

“Yes, honey, but it’s okay.”

And I tried to explain to her that it is okay to be sad. That some of my best memories are there, and I am so happy she was able to see it.

I told her what I wish for all of my children is that they will find something that makes them as happy and passionate. I hope they find  people who like them for who they are. People who embrace their children and their families.

And the generations continue.

 

 

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Speechless

  1. Elise says:

    beautiful post – said as I wipe away a couple tears 🙂

  2. alison says:

    there is just something about camp… Glad you were able to go back with the kids! 🙂

  3. Oasis says:

    There certainly is magic in those trees! I am glad you got to make new memories with your kids in that amazing place. The girl I met there, became friends with, then really good friends, and then married (!) and I hope to share it with our kids in the coming years too! Magic!

Leave a Reply

