Why do you do it?

Ms Betty–you cared for this child for over two years. I  have no doubt that you care about her.  You never planned on adopting her (stated yourself you are too old) but were pretty vocal about the only other family that wanted to adopt her not being good enough.  If you can find a heterosexual, African-American family who wants to adopt this little girl, let’s put our families side-by-side.  They could give her benefits we never will be able to, and we work to connect her with her culture.  But, the sad reality is we may not this girl’s best option, but her only option.

I have my opinions about some of your parenting practices. But, I have chosen to keep those to myself.  (That’s a big fat lie.  I tell anyone in a ten-foot radius when I am standing on my soapbox. But, I have chosen to not tell the children my opinions on this issue.)

Since she has left your house, you seemed thrilled when I brought her to visit, but you have not called her or made an effort to see her.

We recognize your importance to her, and invited you to her birthday party. You told her you were coming, even promised her presents.

And, we were left, consoling a heartbroken, confused five-year old, pacing the floor.

Tell me again how you are serving her best interests?

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why do you do it?

  1. K says:

    Oh wow. That last part chaps me to no end. You tell a kid you’re going to come to their birthday party you better show your face unless you’re so sick you can’t get out of bed. You at least pick up the damned phone. UGH. I’m so sorry 😦

  2. wishinghopingpraying says:

    Oh no! I am so very sorry. Poor,sweet girl. Her little heart must be so bruised. Thankfully she gas you two to help her get through this hurt. Ms Betty -you suck. There is no excuse for that kind of selfishness.

Leave a Reply

