Young Hearts

Unpacking from our SUCCESSFUL family camping trip, I tell Zucchini she can pile her dirty laundry in with ours, as I will be doing laundry all day. 

Zucchini: Ugh, that sounds bor-ing.

Me: Yup, that’s what happens when  you’re a grown-up. 

Zucchini: I don’t want to be a grown-up for a long-time.

Me: Good. That’s my goal.

Zucchini:  You want me to not want to grow up?

Me:  I want you to enjoy being ten, and eleven, for as long as you can.  Not to grow up too soon, and when you get to be a grown-up, then I want you to be ready.

My kids know so many strange adult things, and then miss parts of normal childhood.  It’s why, when we are on an adventure to a “fairy village” in the woods, I love that this ten year-old was searching the houses to find fairies, whispering to her new friend, and making not one know-it-all comment to her sister about it all being fake. 

We wonder if she still believes in Santa, and kind of hope we get one Christmas with her when she does.

It’s why when we are at a cheesy Paul Bunyan restaurant, the servers all singing “Happy Birthday to Carrot, she wonders “How did they know it was my birthday?” I tell her “Paul Bunyan is magic.”   (After considering that random adults shouldn’t know her birthday and our recent stranger danger talks, I did tell her the truth–that I told the hostess when we were being seated. But, if you would have seen her surprised face, astonished by the magic, you might have been tempted to say the same.)

The anthem of our first family vacation and my wish for my children.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Young Hearts

  1. Casey says:

    you both are fantastic mamas… even though we don’t know one another well.. it feels good to have someone to bounce things off of and to know that we will be in eachothers court when needed.

    Thank you for sharing your blog 🙂 shhhh (of course!)

Leave a Reply

