I am going to need that tape

When we were downtown recently, I took a picture of Carrot & Pumpkin standing in the spot where we got married. The next day, the girls asked to look at our wedding pictures. I thought that activity would last all of five minutes, but they studied each page.

We went to our drop-in community playgroup, and we were the only ones there. Carrot went right to her favorite–the dress-up clothes–and pulled out a fancy flowery dress for her. And the only thing that would fit Pumpkin–a fairy dress.

I was given a sparkly crown and wand. And asked to help officiate a “wedding” between Carrot and her brother.

Pumpkin stood, in his fairy dress, holding hands with Carrot. And they promised to love each other forever and ever. I pronounced them “brother and sister for life.”

Then, I “married’ my children—promising to love them forever and ever.

I had to bite my tongue from telling them that is what adoption is. Soon enough.

We all kissed, and danced, and toasted with juice and graham crackers.

Oh, community center, if you have security cameras, could I get a copy of that tape, please?

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am going to need that tape

  1. alison says:

    Love it!!!

  2. E says:

    Oh, now I’m teary.

  3. Caroline says:

    “I had to bite my tongue from telling them that is what adoption is.”
    ^^^^ LOVE that!!!

Leave a Reply

