High Hopes

I mentioned to the social worker that at some point, I thought it would be wonderful if mom could give this move her blessing to the girls. Tell them, “Croi and Erat are nice people and I am glad  you all can live together…”

She looked at me like my bleeding heart was going to grow right out of my forehead.

I said, “This is who I am. I aim HIGH.”

She reminded me to keep realistic expectations.

I said, “I do. Low expectations (High hopes) is one of my mottos.”

Then I said, “I bet you didn’t think mom would ever sign a note to us, ‘love’ either”

“Nope,” she said, “I sure didn’t.”

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to High Hopes

  1. mommie2be says:

    I love it – and know from experience that it can be done!! Social workers can be so jaded they rule out the opportunity for greatness, us bleeding hearts give it breath to happen 🙂

  2. alison says:

    As one of those jaded SWers, it is good to have people who have the great expectations and expect the best! Good luck!

  3. wishinghopingpraying says:

    I like your high hopes and hope you get your blessing! A little bleeding heart does the world good.

  4. Monica says:

    Sometimes I think it’s our job to have stupid faith. The kind of faith that no one else can fathom. And if we can keep up that sort of optimism, then we often see results no one else sees. I believe it right along with you. Don’t let anyone bring you down. It’s important that we keep looking for the sunshine for our kids.

  5. kershnic says:

    Semi-jaded child welfare professional here, but no matter how many times we see disaster we always *should* be looking for opportunities to meet high expectations like yours. It’s very easy to lose track of that in the everyday world of social work, so I have a hard time blaming your worker for her pessimism, but those kids deserve people who have high expectations like yours. Thank you for being those people for these kids and I hope you can help their bio mom live up to them.

  6. Carrie says:

    A semi-jaded child welfare professional here, but I believe that despite how much disaster we see we always *should* be looking for opportunities to meet high expectations like yours. I can’t blame your worker for having realism in her eyes, but those kids deserve to have people in their lives who are willing to dream big for them. I’m glad that you two are able to be those people for these kids, and I hope that their bio mom is eventually able to live up to your high hopes.

    (And hopefully my second, less eloquent, attempt at commenting will actually post!)

  7. Pingback: Hope Fulfilled | Erat Mama

Leave a Reply

