Trying New Things

Carrot’s foster mom is out of town for a week, so she is spending a week with us.

She’s keeping track of the new foods she tries on a list.

She’s pretty adventurous (feta cheese got a big smiley last night) but I thought she was going to cry when I made her green eggs and ham.

I have gotten an interesting view of our family through her eyes.

“You two got married? How did you do that??” (I said, I will love you forever and ever, and she said she would love me forever and ever. Then we ate cake.)

We are calling Pumpkin by his birth name only. We use both names in our house, but it is a little adjustment to only use one.

She is very clear about who her “family” is.  And she “wouldn’t talk bad about anyone in her family. If Pumpkin was ugly, I wouldn’t say that, because he’s in my family. Or if Ms. Bxxx (foster mom), or Zucchini was ugly, I wouldn’t say that.”

Pumpkin was crying as we were driving on the freeway. I told him “as soon as we get to a stoplight, I will get your nuk for you.”  After a minute, Carrot said, “Shhhhh, Pumpkin. Your foster parent will get your nuk for you.”  Sweet, but sure doesn’t roll off the tongue, does it?

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

