Thank You

Thank you to Shannie Shan and Tracy for reminding me that I need to tell Pumpkin’s mom the good I see in her.

The best part of the visit at the doctor’s office was that I could see all the things in mom I would want to be able to tell Pumpkin someday. Your mom loved you very much. She loved seeing you, she was proud of you.

After his nebulizer treatment, she said, “We are so proud of you.”  Yes, we both are.

**********************************

As for the questions–I answered them as honestly as I could. I wasn’t sure where these questions were coming from, and was worried she would think of us as “foster parent baby stealers.” So, I wasn’t as enthusiastic about adopting him as I feel.

I said we just decided to be foster parents this year, just got licensed in October.  I said he was the first long-term placement that we had. She thought we had a one year old as well.  I said that he, and the four year old were both short term placements. She was curious where they went, and seemed relieved that both kids went to live with family. We talked about the importance of maintaining connections, and about other people in my life who I have learned from, a woman who had a mother-like role, but didn’t make me love my mom any less.

It was the longest true conversation we have had, and I am so happy she felt comfortable enough to bring it up.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank You

  1. Monica says:

    That she did says a lot about you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

