Belated Christmas–Help?

My dad’s extended side of the family always celebrates Christmas a week or two after the holiday. Which would be this weekend.

My parents are happy to have Thirteen join us (my mom already offered to buy her presents, and I’m pretty sure she was eyeing up a baby bottle that would fit in the baby doll’s mouth.)

I’m not sure what kind of Christmas she had… my mom tried to ask her if Santa came or what be brought and got very unclear answers (mostly named things Pumpkin has that I think she wants–like the pacifier.)

Part of me thinks it might be a gift to her to come celebrate with my family. Part of me thinks it might be too triggering or overwhelming, if it just makes her miss the people she wants to be with.

(If this were just a gathering and not “Christmas” she would definitely come.) If she does not come, Croi would stay home with her.

Oh, blogging friends who have walked this path before…. what do you think?

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Belated Christmas–Help?

  1. K says:

    I have not walked this path, but I wonder how much good it might do her to see “normal” family gatherings. Is it possible to go but know that if you start to see behavior that shows that it’s too much for her that one of you can leave?

    • EratMama says:

      Thanks to both of you… it figures that she left to go live with her aunt (a blessing) Saturday morning… so no worries. And Gramma packed away her coloring book & baby bottle gifts for another kiddo.

  2. mommie2be says:

    I answered your questions elsewhere, but just have to say…omg, i’m having flashbacks…3 year old and a 2 month old at christmas time!! we’ve just got our genders switched 😉

    let me know if you need anything, any time.

Leave a Reply

