That’s a Christmas Present

I haven’t been to a real church service in a long time. I tried a few different churches in the area, without a good fit.

Today, we met Pumpkin’s mom at her church, and it felt like a real community. A very small congregation, not what I expected at all. The four of us–Croi, me, Pumpkin & his mom sat in the last pew. With a friend of hers.

And you know what? It was comfortable. No, really. We passed the baby back and forth. I held the songbook so she could see it. She even laughed (more than once!) at my lame jokes. She asked me to go with her to take Pumpkin to get his diaper changed–and chatted about what his older sisters were like as babies.

I got the impression several people knew who we were, they called Pumpkin by name and talked with his mom. I felt no judgement of us, or the situation.

At the end of church, one man came over–with “new member information” in hand, ready to get our information and ask us to come back.  I just said, “We’re friends of M’s.”

And, that didn’t feel like too much of a stretch.

She was so appreciative that she was able to see her son on Christmas & told us we made her day. She made ours, too.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That’s a Christmas Present

  1. Caro says:

    What a special first Christmas with Pumpkin 🙂

  2. Monica says:

    So, as usual lately, I’ve missed several days of reading. And as I’m catching up I’m astounded by your open heart. You are exactly the kind of parents Leo and I are constantly trying to rally to join this cause. I’m so impressed! Good work, mama.

Leave a Reply

