Making friends with technology

Being a foster parent makes you grow in new and unexpected ways.

It makes me embrace technology.

I like getting my pictures in print form and the actual act of putting them in an album. I like arranging them and seeing them in my hand.

Before Pumpkin was here, I wondered what I would do for a baby book. None of the traditional ones fit.  “A sonogram picture” “Daddy said….”

One well meaning friend bought us a scrapbook.  Which filled me with dread. I don’t want another hobby and I don’t want to be a scrapbooker.

Ahhhh, the internet CAN be my friend.

I’ve been uploading all my pictures to shutterfly. I already have a digital baby book started–and can keep editing it as I go.  First bath?  Just add a page.

The best part? I can order multiple copies. The soon-to-be-NY times-bestseller “Welcome Pumpkin” (his first week with us) was sent to us, and to both grandparents. And, with a few small changes (taking out pictures of us) 4 more copies were ordered–for mom, dad, and two sisters in two different foster homes. They were all very appreciative, and I think it will help build a relationship with his family.

If my biological child were being taken care of by strangers, seeing pictures of his home would make me feel a lot more comfortable.  Heck, I like it when Croi texts me a picture when I’m at work.

If you know me, you know how excited I am to send Christmas cards this year. As long as Pumpkin is in our house, he’s our family. Close friends and family will  be receiving a version of this card.

I was even able to put a bonus picture & words on the back!

And, it was easy to choose a different picture (one without his sweet face) to send to others who are not quite as close.

Because I’m a control freak and like to customize, I nearly sent out this card:

Did you know you can choose your format and layout for the front, inside & back of many of their cards?  So fun to play with.

The internet actually did make my Christmas a little easier. Thanks, shutterfly.

***post partially sponsored by Shutterfly***

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making friends with technology

  1. Monica says:

    I’ve used shutterfly for all my kids’ books. I really do love them. Also, y’all are so very good at this. You’ve got the right attitude. It’s a blessing to see others loving so well. Hope your holidays with Pumpkin are an incredible beginning to many, many more 🙂

Leave a Reply

