What’s in a name?

Our pumpkin came with a real name.  Not just pumpkin. Although coming home on October 31st with a hand crocheted pumpkin hat it might as well be his name.

His mom gave him a name. And we use it. He’s named after his father, who has a stereotypical African American name. (one I have seen spelled at least 4 different ways on official paperwork and still am not sure the correct way. I really want to know before his first visit with mom on Monday, so I can spell it the same way she does!)

We also use another name.  A name that has been in our family, especially Croi’s family. A name that makes him feel like part of the family. Croi is white, and I have known many white people with this name…but I have also known many African American men with this name.

We will use them both. And whatever happens–whether he stays here or not, it’s one more option he has in life. Hopefully, it will make transitioning between cultures a little easier for him. I hope having two names will open a few more doors for him.

I am more comfortable having the name we chose for him out there in the world–on facebook, to family, whatever.  It gives him a little bit of confidentiality (although he has nothing to be embarrassed about) in the busy world.

I look at his face and see both names in it. I hope he does too.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s in a name?

  1. Lex says:

    WOW! Congratulations you two (three!)! He sounds amazing and is incredibly lucky to be in a home like yours. I hope that, in time, you find out all about him. I’m glad you’re using a family name too – I think that’s important. I respect you so much for honoring his birth mother’s name wishes. Enjoy!

  2. Monica says:

    Awesome! We did that with Simeon’s name – gave him a family middle name. Now he has many names to choose from. And in a way it makes him more a part of us.

Leave a Reply

