We said no.

I know this may not make sense to some of you.

We got our first phone call!

Newborn boy. Born drug addicted. Caucasian. Lots of family involvement.

We are hoping for a sibling pair. And are totally open to race. We felt that there are many homes that would want a caucasian baby, and fewer that would want an african american sibling pair, so it just didn’t seem right. And, we can’t afford to take an [unpaid] leave from work, to then have a child returned to his family.

We did tell the placement worker that if she goes through her list and doesn’t find a placement to call us back 😉

**********
And Tracy–looks like you’re the winner of the book “One Day.” Guessed it on the nose. Guessed placement date of 10/21–that’s this Friday–so I hope you’re right.

Email me at erathoracontact@gmail.com with your address & I’ll send it in the mail!

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We said no.

  1. mommie2be says:

    I’m sure you’re still spinning from the emotions of getting your first call, but I think you made the right decision. The “lots of family involvement” says to me that this probably won’t be a foster to adopt baby and, while I don’t know your specific situation, I know for most people it just wouldn’t be wise to take an unpaid leave of absence for a baby that would likely be short-term.

    hang in there, the right call will come!

    • EratMama says:

      Exactly, E. Spinning and S-H~A~K~I~N~G. The lots of family involvement combined with the need to take a leave—just not something Croi/we could do over and over again. If he were 3 mo. old (and could go to daycare) it would be a different story.

  2. Wow! awesome about getting your first call! I honestly would be in the same situation. I would turn them down. The medical needs would probably be intense, but the lots of family involvement would be the item that would make me not interested. There are other kids out there and as everyone says the right match will come!

    And wow-to cool that I guessed right!! I will email you my addy!

    Side note-we are still waiting for our license to get finalized/created… Our guy was out on medical leave last week. So really hoping for this week 🙂

  3. Monica says:

    So… nothing like showing up late to the party, but YAY!!!! You got your first phone call!!!! And I totally get you. Do what’s right for you. For the kids you’re taking in. I’m so excited to keep reading and catching up on what’s next… don’t tell me! I’m going now!

Leave a Reply

