Taking Bets

Received this email from the stork yesterday:

My supervisor completed the file audit and this is the last of the information needed for licensing. I met with my supervisor today and she has been unable to read your home study. It is technically due on 10/7 so it was pushed back in order to take care of emergencies. She did agree to read your home study next so I hope that we will be able to approve your Foster Home License by early next week. I apologize for this delay. I know we agreed to have your License completed by this Friday and I really am sorry that you have to wait a little longer.

Who is surprised?  Not I.

We’re taking bets as to when the first phone call will come. And bets as to when the first child will come live at our house.

No, really, we are.

Wanna get in on this action?

Whoever picks the closest date to our actual placement gets a pound of my favorite pick-me-up–Metropolis Prospero coffee

Pick the date closest to the date we get our first phone call (could be one we say yes or no to) and you get a copy of “One Day” by David Nicholls–novel I read on our babymoon turned into movie starring Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess.

Place your bets in the comments. Bonus points (bottle of something yummy?) for psychically predicting other notable features of the case.

***********************************************************

For the people who have said, “I’m sorry”— We’re really fine.

We know the right kids are coming. Last weekend felt like “possibly our last weekend as a two-person family.” Croi called this weekend a “snow-day” of that same feeling.  More soaking each other up–but we each reacted pretty non-emotionally to the news.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Taking Bets

  1. Mandy(Katie) says:

    You are too funny! I’ll guess Halloween!

  2. meridith says:

    Oh! I want to play. I guess first phone call on 10/13 and placement on 10/20.

  3. Erika says:

    Home study date: 10/11. Call about a kid: 11/4.

    In Waukesha Co., home studies are supposed to be completed in three months. Ours took seven. We thought, at the time, that this was our caseworker’s fault because she was a total airhead. (Technically it was her fault, but…)

    Now we know that it was fate. I mean, look what happened for us?!

    Very excited for you guys, whenever whatever happens!

  4. Ooo! I’ll play along to! I was going to play devil’s advocate and say later than 10/8, but alot of people beat me to it! 🙂 Being that the county is desperate for beds & I’m not sure if you said your taking recently detained kiddos or just adopt track kiddos… so here we go with dates:
    Call about kiddo : 10/17 and placement 10/21. I am really excited for you guys! Our process is moving along-hoping to get license in my hands this week or the next, who knows. Our guy never gave us a firm date…

    • EratMama says:

      We are open to children recently detained, but are looking for longer-term placements (with the openness to adopt). We are not looking for short-term/respite at this time. We would like a sibling pair–both under 3 or 4. We DO have a great social worker and I fully expect our license by 10/7.

  5. mommie2be says:

    In my world, it amazing that they contacted you to tell you there was a delay – and even more amazing that she apologized!! Sounds like you’ve been blessed with a good team!

    Call: 10/13
    Placement: 10/14

  6. mommie2be says:

    whoops, call on 10/13 taken…then I’ll say you get called, say yes, and placed on 10/14!

  7. Carrie says:

    I’ll play! Call: 10/12. Placement: 10/20. Good luck! The perfect (for you) children are coming your way!!

  8. seattlegirl says:

    Call: 10/18 Placement: 11/1 (though I am hoping it will be sooner than that!)

Leave a Reply

