Nursery preview

I bought a glider-rocker from a rummage sale (from BGAI, actually, so it must be good luck.  Good luck I said. Notice me linking to a happy post and not the “my daughter doesn’t sleep through the night and I might lose my mind” post).  The cushions were blue, and kind of boring in our blue room.  It’s anything but boring now!


The Cat in the Hat got an upgrade!

I got the fabric from drawstring studio , and had a local woman recover the cushions.  I gasped when I saw the finished product.

The ottoman we’ve had for at least 7 years, and was a pretty stained tan corduroy.  I brought the giraffe fabric to her, and was just going to sew a slipcover, but she did so much more. The top opens up for storage.  And, as you can see from the photo above, we can use all the storage we can get! (please excuse the nursery in progress)

Budget Nursery: $25 glider rocker (brand: Dutali.er), $50 fabric (bought way too much–lots leftover), $50 recovering of both chair & ottoman.  (Ottoman was purchased 7 years ago at Tar-ghey for $20. I’m not even counting that in the cost.)

Result= Custom chair & ottoman for $125–way less than new.

**Budget nursery bonus:  The picture you see behind the chair–mama giraffe kissing a baby giraffe is mounted on wood and purchased at a local secondhand kids store for $10.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nursery preview

  1. K says:

    Those look great! I love the bright colors. I’ve never thought to shop for fabric on etsy before, but I think I’m gonna have to start! 🙂

  2. Monica says:

    Exciting!!! I love the colors 🙂

  3. Danielle says:

    Love it! Can’t wait to see it all together!

  4. Pingback: Nursery is Ready | Erat Mama

Leave a Reply

