Baby Bucket List

We have become acutely aware that are couple-dom days are numbered.

Croi is insisting on a baby-moon of sorts to “soak each other up” before the kiddos get here. So, much so that last night she threatened to say no to a placement if we got a call before our vaca. She knew that would be enough for me to get it on the calendar.

She asked me what I wanted to do before the baby arrives. I don’t have specific (non-baby) things I need to do. I had just been mourning the lack of a shower (another long post). But, that’s out of my control and I need to make peace with it.

She’s a good reminder to take care of myself first.

I know I want aĀ  new camera–main requirement: nearly instant shutter. Capture the super-cute faces, not the looooonng delay our current one has.

I’ve been thinking I should make a list of books I want to read in my pre-baby reading. Non baby related ones. Make the most of my clear brain, sleep, and uninterrupted time. I think I’d like a whole afternoon or evening of staying on the couch or lawn chair. Beverage in hand. Reading.

I have a few projects I’ve been meaning to craft/sew.Ā  I’ll have to focus on the non-baby ones.

A late night out on the town seems necessary.

I’m working on a list.

 

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baby Bucket List

  1. M says:

    We had a short list – go to the beach, visit an amusement park – and I find I sometimes use those times as a touchstone when I feel particularly distant from my partner. A reminder that this baby is our world but that we’re very much in it together with her.

  2. Carrie says:

    Your pre-baby preparation sounds like fun. šŸ™‚ I keep hearing the advice that we should do these fun pre-kid things to our hearts desire while we’re preparing to TTC and TTCing and pregnant, but it’s hard to stay in the moment and not get lost in the anticipation of the future! A fun thing about preparing to adopt is that you can drink during your babymoon phase. Or maybe that’s just me…. šŸ™‚

  3. Monica says:

    Live. It. Up! Having kids is awesome. And you will find times and ways to connect. The baby has to sleep sometime šŸ˜‰ But… while you’re waiting, you’re right. Make the most of it. Take pictures and make memories. It’s incredibly securing to a child to see his/her parents in love. And you’ll need a good foundation to remember that you are some days.

Leave a Reply

