How Will I Say No?

I know the kind of child we are looking for. I know what sort of things we do not feel capable of handling right now.

I tell myself I will know when it is right. And have the courage to say “no” when it is not a good fit.

Then someone leaves a box of baby kittens at my work. Just dumps them in the backyard.  So tiny—eyes not open, can barely hold their heads up, umbilical cords still attached. I feed all 5 of them, help snuggle them in for the night.

Me feeding one of the kittens.

I’m allergic to cats, we have a dog, and it’s just not a good fit.

BUT, I’m already thinking how I can re-arrange our life to care for these little tiny creatures for awhile. Just for a week or two? Until they get good homes?  (If you want one, or 5, I’ll gladly foster them until you come pick them up! Please?)

No. The answer is No, Erat. Better practice saying it now.

Boundaries.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Will I Say No?

  1. Wow – tough. Very well written… a lot to think about.

  2. Monica says:

    Yes! Keep practicing no, but you’ve got it. Allergies, lack of room, lack of energy… and yet the yesses come.

  3. In The Pink says:

    Poor kitties…I am finally following you! Hooray for that.

Leave a Reply

