Committed to the Process

I went back to read a few old posts.  Yikes!  I had to fight the urge to do some major editing.

But that is where I was then. This is where I am now.  For my sake, I want to share with you the process.

I like to pretend I’m a bit crafty, although much of it is in my head more than in my hand. I stumbled upon a quilting blog that had this logo (picture? icon? I don’t know what it’s called) on the side.

The idea is that too many quilters, sewers, crafters, etc.  post the finished product but not all the messy stuff along the way. We see a finished quilt, or polished picture, and don’t see the unraveling (literal or figurative) at 2am.

When someone makes a comment about me having it all together, or Croi and I having the perfect marriage, or whatever, it is important for me to relay accurate information. I certainly don’t have it all together. Croi and I have gone through ups and downs and have had to work on the things that are important to us. I sure appreciate the people that when we were struggling, told us about the imperfections in our their own lives.

I am striving to be committed to the messy, unfinished, incomplete, rambly process along the way. Not wait to publish until I’ve said it perfectly. Share the boring, icky, trivial, along the way. You know, the process.

If I waited until I had the perfectly written post, I would be posting a lot less. And I don’t think that would do me (or you) any good.

Thanks again for your understanding. In return, I’ll keep sharing the messy.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Committed to the Process

  1. mommie2be says:

    I feel the same way when I go back and read old posts. ::shudder:: But its me and its real and for some reason a handful of people like to read it 🙂

    I like you as is – messy and all.

  2. I love this post! It has reminded me to embrace the process, the past, and to see it as a learning experience, as a sign of growth, or just the process of getting from there to here. But good golly do I ever want to edit old blog post. Heavily edit. LOL

Leave a Reply

