Tolerant of the Intolerant

Our poor, brave, strong little one.  You are on your way to us, through obstacles I can not imagine.

I want to tell you that when you get here you will only feel love. Unfortunately, I was reminded this weekend, that I won’t be able to protect you from all the fear and hate in this world.

Mama’s aunt said some hurtful things, and quoted some hurtful bible verses (Timothy 1:10) just to remind Mama that she does not support her.

I am not a Bible-quoting gal, but I wanted to quote several more in response.  Especially James 1:27:  Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

It reminded me of this video I saw on PoppLife .

 

Mama got mad. And probably gave the problem more energy than she should have. The thing is, it is hard for me to figure out how to protect you, how to teach you how to deal with hate and prejudice when I don’t really know myself yet.

Then your sweet grandpa reminded me that Mama’s aunt doesn’t know Mama or Mommy well enough for this to be personal.  It just shows her ignorance and fear towards others.

He told me that the Dalai Lama talked about the struggle to be tolerant toward the intolerant. And, that’s the lesson in this for me. I’m still learning.

I promise, we’ll try to figure it out together. Okay?

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tolerant of the Intolerant

  1. Monica says:

    Beautiful. Hurtful things abound. It’s true. Our children face it in so many ways. More than most at times. Of course, you already know that. But you’ve got it right. You can do it. Together. And you’re not alone. You’re going to be a great Mama! You’re already making an amazing family!

Leave a Reply

