I love list making.

Just a quick note to say–all went well!

Our social worker took a quick tour of our home, literally checking to make sure there are no skeletons in our closet. Told us a few home repairs to make (no biggies, just the door lock and more carbon monoxide and smoke detectors, mostly. )

I brought up my concerns regarding my mental health history. She said, she “does not foresee any problems.” About 6 times. Which finally made me feel better.

Yes, if she were us, she would go ahead and paint a nursery and buy a crib! Yay!

So, my message to you is, if you are thinking about fostering and worry about your mental health history, there are many many other people who are currently receiving treatment for depression (or other conditions) and are foster parents. Our social worker will want a letter from my therapist. The letter does not have to say what we talk about in therapy, but should say that my therapist doesn’t see any barriers to me being a foster parent, and does not see any barriers to me parenting a traumatized (sexually or otherwise) child.  She’s 110% on board with that.

The process is actually 3-4months to be “dually licensed”–foster and adoption. So, we will meet with Kelly Kelly Kelly Kelly 4-6 times before October.

It’s Thursday. Do I even need to tell you what I’m thankful for?  The ability to make a really fun list!  A list of baby things!

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I love list making.

  1. That’s AWESOME! Congrats you two!! So happy to hear there was no concerns about the mental health issue… gives me hope 😉

  2. Monica says:

    Wahoo!!! Welcome to the party… mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

