Do not mistake my boisterousness for athleticism

I barely made it through the mile “run” yesterday. I can honestly say I ran more yesterday than I have in my entire life, and definitely did better than I did in my high school gym class. I used the strategy of run the straightaways, walk the curves.

At some point, I realized this was going to take a long time, and it was really going to suck. And, I couldn’t breathe. PANIC! Near tears. How will I keep going for…. three more laps? I could be in this misery for fifteen minutes!?!

The, I said, fuck this, I’ve had panic attacks last longer than 15 minutes. I can do this.

Standing around with the coach at the end, I was joking with some friends. The coach said, “But look at you now, you’re on a runner’s high.”

He doesn’t know me. I’m naturally loud.

Please do not mistake my boisterousness for athleticism.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

