Thankful for the Courage to Try Something New

Gym Class.

Really does anyone have good memories? Okay, a few of you do. But, for those of you who d r e a d e d gym class something fierce and are getting a knot in your stomach just remembering and are thinking you just “had womanly troubles” and can’t go to class, we would be friends.

You know it never mattered what I had in common with Susie the other 7 periods of the day, if during gym class Susie and I were always picked last, and were the last to finish “running” the mile we were friends. If your gym teacher called you a “statue” and told you to move, and someone else was standing there, the two of you had an unbreakable bond.

If you know what I am talking about, I don’t think any more needs to be said. If you don’t, I don’t think any amount of words can explain it.

The day we ran the mile in gym class was one of the most dreaded days of the year. For some, it may have been giving a speech. For me, it was being told to “just try and run” please.

When Heather and I decided to speed walk instead of running, we felt so rebellious.

I am not an athlete. I am not athletic. I can’t run.

I believed this for so long I never even considered them beliefs. Just fact.

Watching Croi (and many friends) become runners I actually started to question myself. I have always thought, “I am not a runner” but the thing is I have never tried.

A running group/coach started a couch to 5K type program. And I signed up.

I said, “I’ll try.” Who knows–maybe I’m a runner? (I can’t even type that with a straight face.) But, I do know how beneficial physical activity is for my brain. And Lord knows how crappy I’ve been about getting some. And I keep hearing, “running is 90% mental.” I don’t know if that makes me feel better or worse. I don’t know if I have the mental strength for that.

I’ve already said that if at the end of 10 weeks I hate it just as much as I do now, I NEVER have to do it again. Then I’ll know for sure.

But, I also know there is not a single moment in my life where I would have considered doing this.

Never in my life have I even thought that committing to a 10 week training program with a 5K run at the end was even possible for me. And today I do. So, for that I am grateful.

I am grateful that I am doing more than I ever thought possible.

Ask me how I really feel tomorrow.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful for the Courage to Try Something New

  1. SerenityNow says:

    You go girl!
    I wasnt a gym class hater, but definitely thought that I was not in the category of people who could run. Then I married into a marathoning family. I dont know that that distance is for me, but I can knock out a respectable 5K. It’s much different when I can just run and listen to my body, rather than having a teacher or coach tell me to hurry up.

  2. Carrie says:

    I hated gym class as much as anyone, and I probably would have done just about anything to get out of it. That mile was pure 100% torture. In college I lost a bunch of weight by dieting and then finally decided I needed to exercise too. And after a while I found that jogging was not as horrible as I had always thought. I’ve gained the weight back, but the idea that I CAN jog and improve and not hate it is stuck to me forever. Good luck with your new quest!

Leave a Reply

