Are we pregnant?

Croi and I have gotten into some funny conversations of late. She knows my tendency to plan 17 steps ahead, and does not want me (or her) to be heartbroken if things do not go according to plan.

At first, we weren’t going to tell anyone that we were applying to be foster parents until we were actually licensed. Fear of embarrassment if we were denied. Well, that was her plan. I’m not sure I ever agreed to go along with it.

Then, we slowly started telling a few people. And, it seemed pretty natural, so we told a few more.

We were walking down the street, and several pregnant women passed. I was telling Croi that I try to figure out “how pregnant” we are. She insisted we are “not pregnant” yet and reminded me not to put the cart before the horse.

We talked about what “being pregnant” when you are foster to adopting means. Does it mean you know there is a baby coming? When it that magic time for fostering? We walked in silence for awhile, thinking about the babies out there we are already trying not to get too attached to.

Then it hit me–we filled out our paperwork and mailed it in. In about two weeks a social worker will come to our house. They won’t license us that day, but we are hoping for a “thumbs up.” As in–yes, your house looks ok, you two look ok, I would continue the planning process. Go ahead and paint the nursery!

It’s a two-week wait.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are we pregnant?

  1. SerenityNow says:

    We had many of the same emotions while we were TTC (trying to conceive). On one hand, it’s good to tell people, because you need support when there are bumps along the road. On the other hand, I dont always want to talk about it when people are like “sooooooo? anything yet???”.
    For me, it helps to get it out! And in doing so, I learned that there are many people with the same fears and concerns. I found a great online community at BabyCenter.com.

  2. mommie2be says:

    I think its wise that you are telling people now. We waited until we were done with training and I regret it – our families didn’t have enough time to wrap thier heads around it before the babies came. One of the biggest mistakes we made was not preparing our families better. This is uncharted territory for many of them and we should have had more converstations pre-kids about what to expect, how we planned to manage family relationships, ect.

    So that’s my long-winded way of saying – good for you! its smart to start those conversations now πŸ™‚

  3. CoffeeBlue says:

    Good luck with this TWW! I feel like we’re in the same boat. TWW-ish until approval – then bazillion month-ish wait until the kid gets here πŸ˜‰ (also – I responded to your comment on my blog :))

  4. There are lots of variations of the TWW, and I’m very happy to hear about yours!

Leave a Reply

