Mixing Storied DNA

The story I told you about my great-grandma coming west on the Orphan Train and being adopted is about my dad’s grandma.

My mom also brings some strong storied DNA to the mix.

Her great grandma (My great great grandma) was named Katherine. Katherine was born in Austria, and lived there with her husband, Joseph (a coal miner) and their five children. One day, there was an explosion in the coal mine, killing Joseph, and many other residents of this small town.

Joseph and Katherine had been discussing coming to America, and after her husband was killed, Katherine thought that she would be able to provide a better life for her children here.

Katherine’s friend also became a widow in the coal mine explosion. But, this other woman was not able to come to America. So, she asked Katherine to take her 4 children with her to America, to try to give them a better life.

Katherine said yes.

She brought her 5 children, plus her friend’s 4 children (All under 10–most under 6) to America. By herself.

She settled in a small town, where the priest said, “you’re a widow and have kids, and this other guy is a widower with kids… you two should get together.”And, they married, Brady Bunch Hora style. And had a few more–including my great grandma–together.

No wonder I feel a pull to bring other kids into my family.

I think it’s in my DNA.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mixing Storied DNA

  1. Monica says:

    Wonderful! Delightful! I wonder how many of us have these storied DNA’s?

  2. CoffeeBlue says:

    Hi! Glad you stopped by my page. As far as we know, they have not contacted any of our references. I guess they can at any time, but it doesn’t seem to be part of the regular process. In fact, as far as buying babies goes, I feel like the whole thing has been pretty lax. A lot of bark and no bite. Feel free to email me anytime (coffeeblue at bakeonebuyone dot com) with questions. I’ll be following along and wishing you luck.

  3. EratHora says:

    Monica–So true. If we each searched, I bet there is a reason why most of us would be good parents to “other people’s children.”

    Coffee–Thanks for answering! I have post brewing about that topic. I’m not really worried, but I told my brother I’d ask around. He’s really supportive, but comes across as more supportive when he’s had time to think & process. He wants talking points. And asked his very verbal sister (that’s me!) for help. I added you to my blogroll as well–best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

