Paying Bills = Thankful Thursday?

We were doing some budgeting and bill paying last night. Never a particularly fun endeavor. We’re middle class, have some debt, and have been hit by a some of the economic times, like so many else. Not to mention medical bills. Being depressed is expensive.  There is just never enough money to go around.

We make more than we did 5 or 10 years ago, but we have more bills (hello student loans.)

I remembered when we were younger, “poor slob college kids” as my gram would say, worried about making rent. Our water was included with our cheap rent. We would joke about turning down the heat and taking lots of baths. Steaming up the apartment for the warmth. Saying it was a good thing our favorite bar was across the street so we didn’t need to take a cab or drive. (Somehow, there was always money for $2 Long Islands on Mondays. Bang for your buck.)

And, most of our bill paying sessions have ended with joking gratitude that “it’s a good thing we like each other because we won’t have any money to go out this month.”

But, what would I rather have: money to go out with or someone who likes me to snuggle with? No doubt.

It usually starts with an exasperated eye roll, “I’m glad we like our neighbors because we are stuck here. We sure can’t sell our house anytime soon.” Throw in a few more, “I’m glad your hobby is running and not horseback riding… it’s a lot cheaper!” “I’m glad you’re a good cook and coupon clipper because we are not going out to eat!”

It’s pretty silly. And pathetic.

And really comforting.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paying Bills = Thankful Thursday?

  1. Monica says:

    This made me smile. Even the lean times are better with laughter and love. Heck, at the best of times a night of noodles and canoodeling is better than a night on the town in my opinion.

  2. It’s funny. I was on disability welfare (because of depression) from when I was 18-23ish. I got about $900/month from the government, $400 of it went to rent, and sometimes it feels like I’m struggling more financially now than I did back then, even though my income is now about quadruple what it was. It’s the damn responsibilities that come along with being an educated adult! Student loans, mortgages, car payments… yadda yadda.

Leave a Reply

