Yeah, I’ve totally run marathons

As I have mentioned before, Croi is a runner. She recently trained for, and now completed her first marathon. Amazing.

I am not a runner. Nope. But the dedication I admire. And the philosophy and lessons of running I find very interesting. And scary.

I spent the weekend surrounded by runners, hearing running philosophy.

Things like “run through the pain.” Sound a lot like “just keep swimming, just keep swimming.”

“Get comfy with being uncomfy.”  Hmmm. You’re supposed to feel uncomfortable and you need to be comfortable with that.

“It’s supposed to be hard.” Oh. It’s hard for everyone. Not just me. Relief.

We sang the chiquita banana song.... know it?While handing out bananas at mile 14 to anyone who wanted one, we sang the chiquita banana song… know it? Day-o, B-a-n-a-n-a-s, I like to eat apples and bananas…. there are a surprising amount of songs with the word banana in them.  I was called the “banana lady.”

I can’t imagine doing anything for five hours. Much less running. So any silly thing I could do that would take their minds off of the pain of running for 2 seconds was my gift to them. Even if it made my brother roll my eyes. For those 2 seconds he was thinking about his stupid sister and not his leg cramp or the 40 mile an hour winds.

Sometimes that’s all we can do for someone going through something really difficult. Take their mind off of it for 2 seconds.

And, I found this article, about blogging being like marathoning. We don’t know who will read it, or what the end result is. But, I do it for me.

The writing is the purpose, and this is what I get out of it. Dedication. Thought. Community. Knowledge I am not alone. Giving back. And so much more.

Thanks for supporting one of my “marathons.”

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

