Parolees and Pit Bulls

Have you seen any of the stories about puppies raised by prisoners to be given to veterans? The dogs then are able to act as service animals and help vets with PTSD and other disorders. I’ve seen a few shows on this and they always have me crying like a baby.

The idea of these prisoners, who are considered to be “no good, throwaways” finding their own purpose, connecting with a soft strength, and giving back to the community gives me hope. Watching vets who have made such sacrifices and feel so isolated connect with another creature helps me to not feel so alone.

So, when I saw a TV program by this name, my fave and I snuggled up to watch it. I won’t go into all the reasons I thought it was strange, but let’s just say it wasn’t what I expected and didn’t make me feel much.

What I saw, and what stuck with me, was two people driving hundreds of miles to pick up a dead dog that was left by the side of the road to rot. Is that sad? Yes. Do I think any creature deserves to be treated that way? No.

Do I think it’s strange that we personify our animals and treat humans like animals? YES.

(Disclaimer: Do I spoil my dog? Absolutely. As my grandma says, “When they say, ‘it’s a dog’s life’ they didn’t mean your dog.”)

And, it got me thinking about how much I run my mouth about my philosophies, and how little I do about it. I used to work in human services–at a group home for teen girls, as a case manager for homeless adults, at a day treatment program for adults with severe and persistent mental illness. It’s in me. But, life took a different turn. Now, I work for a small (albeit, community minded, ethical, giving back) business.

So, I called our local shelter for teen runaways the next day and begin volunteering tomorrow.

Should this image be so easy to walk past?

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parolees and Pit Bulls

  1. Monica says:

    On behalf of those teens. And their families. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

