Tugs at my heart

I always thought I would have kids. I met my fave working at a summer camp, for Pete’s sake. It was always part of our plan.

Then, I couldn’t see the joy in anything. Things got complicated. I couldn’t see what I had to offer a child. Me who used to plan everything, stopped being able to plan. I just didn’t know. If I couldn’t be a parent, what did that mean for us? I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know.

I once felt things deeply. Felt joyful, positive, connected things deeply. That was my religion. Then I didn’t feel any connection for a long time. I felt dead inside. Sometimes I think I am just beginning to understand how dead/sick I was.

I knew that I could not be a good parent having once known what that was like to feel “touched” and not feel that anymore.  For me, it was not about worrying that I would be so depressed that I would truly neglect my child. I tend people. I know no matter how tired or unhappy I was, I couldn’t let a screaming baby cry. It was a matter of feeling empty while doing it. All of the heartache, stress, pain, and no joy. I would not do it.

Now, I’ve had a few tugs at my heart. The first few times it was really scary. “I don’t want to start feeling this if it is all going to get ugly again.”

A few months ago, my book club read Room, by Emma Donahue. [WOW. That book will stick with you.] At the discussion, (I was only asked to join this club a few months ago, and don’t know many people yet) one woman asked me if I was a mom. I stopped and said, “No, not yet.” I had a strange feeling, and almost said, “I am, but I don’t have kids yet.” Big tug.

We spent the day with a friend and her daughter, at our house. It felt really right. Not forced, just comfortable. I have these moments sometimes, I think Rosie O calls them “tingles.” It is looking at something and thinking, “that’s my favorite moment of the day.” It may only be 10am–but you know that’s pretty great. I was tickling 4 year old Adventure and Bingo was jealous–came up and gave her kisses, which made her laugh more. I said, thank you, Adventure, I think this is my favorite moment of the week, right here.

And, I thought, I can do this. This feels right. TUG.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

