Not Moving

My marathon-training favorite got up bright and early to go run “just a half-marathon.”  I have had a long week at work and really wanted to sleep in. The pup had other ideas.

So, we got up, went for a stroll (barely to the corner–just do your business and come home). I was vegging on the couch watching bad tv. (Did you know there’s a Big Gay I.ce Cream Tr.uck in New York? It’s now on my list of things to do next time I go back.) I was thinking of all the things I should do–you know the dishes I can smell that haven’t been done since Wednesday, the laundry, the general our house is an end-of-the-week mess. And not feeling moving.

This lead to the “how will I be able to take care of kids” line of thinking. Am I crazy for wanting this? Am I selfish for thinking I deserve this?

Then, a friend called. He had just landed at the airport, and we were trying to coordinate plans for later in the week. The airport is 5 min away from our house, and I said, “Why don’t you just come over?”***

Then, I did what I could in the next 5 min. Not the frantic, embarrassed scramble. But, just, seeing what I could do. I still had a bandana on my head when he came over. Dishes weren’t done. But the bed was made. And the “big chunks” (what I call piles of clothes not actual dirt 😉  ) were gone.

I was glad I got moving. And, continued moving after he left. And now I’m blogging.

**Yup, 5 minutes from the airport. I’ve been known to drive there and meet people on their layovers. So, if you’re ever in my neck of the woods…. I’d love to meet you at the airport! And I’ll even bring a muffin. And not charge you $5 for it.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

