Thankful Thursday #1

I’ve been thinking about a gratitude list. In that whole mind-body connection research, this has been shown to be helpful–for people with mild to severe depression.

And, then I saw Atypical Traditionalists blog. I think it’s a great idea.  And, a good way for me to keep track of things I am thankful for. Go back and reflect. Because, Lord knows, I’ve been journalling a lot less since I’ve been blogging.

  • Dear Diary, aka bloggers, I am thankful for all of you. This has been a great space for me to exercise my writing muscle. I feel a sense of community, and most of all, like that I have a purpose in writing–something I used to feel pretty good at and never practiced.
  • Dear commenters–I am very thankful for you! See: sense of community above.
  • Thankful for tugs at my heart strings. I used to wonder if I would ever feel those tugs again. I didn’t feel that purpose, that connection, that sense of being alive, that, erat hora, for a long time.
  • Thankful that some of those tugs are tugging me to be a mom.
  • Thankful for a friend’s kid who spontaneously said, “I forget, are Croi & Ellie part of our family?” Yup, kiddo, we are.”
  • Thankful for real-life friends who have found the blog and said something to me or in an email. (So, if you know me in real life, just say you found the blog, and we can talk about it. Then, I can be grateful for that, too.)
  • Thankful my boss/owner likes me and wants me to buy his business from him. (Not gonna happen.)
  • Thankful I enjoy the work I do. Most days. Even if it’s not what I went to school for or thought I’d be doing.
  • Thankful for a supportive partner who is fully committed to me, making me feel loved, and improving our marriage.

“If the only prayer you say on your entire life is “Thank You” that will suffice.”

Meister Eckhart


It’s been a long week here. And tomorrow is going to be a loooonnngg day. (At work 7am-10pm. Good thing I work at a coffeeshop.)

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thankful Thursday #1

  1. mommie2be says:

    Wow, I love that quote. Really really love it.

  2. mommie2be says:

    In fact, it would be a good one for wall words.

    just kidding 😉

    maybe.

  3. An Atypical Traditionalist says:

    I’m loving your version of the Thankful Thursday 🙂

Leave a Reply

