Courage to Write

Brene Brown defines courage as “to tell the story of who you are with your whole heart.” She’s got an awesome video on ted.com that you can see here.

To say this is difficult for me is an understatement.

I like to present the best of myself. I don’t want people to know the dark, scary parts of me.

But, I have found that when I do, amazing things happen. Someone else tells me a story with their whole heart.

When I told my eye doctor that I had been in the hospital for trying to end my life (it lead to some thankfully short-term eye problems), he told me that he, too, had chosen to end his life in a similar way. But, it gets better.

When I was hesitant to let a friend know about this blog, for fear of how many other people would “find out” about me,  she then told me about some of her struggles and pointed me in the direction of this writing contest. I don’t know what I will say, but I think the writing experience will be a good challenge for me. And by March 15th! That’s soon!

(And to say that I’ve been learning FROM this friend since she was a kid and I was not much older would NOT be an overstatement.)

May this be my (humble) motto:

“My story is important not because it is mine, God knows, but because if I tell it anything like right, the chances are you will recognize that in many ways it is also yours. Maybe nothing is more important than that we keep track, you and I, of these stories of who we are and where we have come from and the people we have met along the way because it is precisely through these stories, in all their particularity, as I have long believed and often said, that God makes himself known to each of us most powerfully and personally.”
-Frederick Buechner

(I stole this from Christine at welcometomybrain. Inspirational).

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Courage to Write

  1. in the pink says:

    It is always surprising to find out someone you least expect has shared an experience. I think it is wonderful that you find moments to let some truth out and have it benefit others. I think deep down that is why we all blog. To not be or feel alone. Anyhow, I love your blog girl.

  2. Carol E. says:

    I just read B. Brown’s book .. something about Imperfections… I read it too fast (last minute before book group discussion) so I don’t even know if I liked it or not. Some day I’ll try again.

Leave a Reply

