Time Suckers

I am sorry it has been quite a few days since I have blogged. I have come to really appreciate the space to write, document my thoughts, go back and reflect, and the community it brings! I enjoyed writing in high school and college, and found this to be helpful in a different way than journalling–it helps me focus my thoughts.

Which is exactly what I have had difficulty doing this week. I started this post twice. The first time I accidentally called it “difficulty focusin.” Then, I have opened it at least two  more times, gotten distracted, and walked away. When  you come back into a room with a post titled “difficulty focusin” open on your desktop, it can either make you laugh, sigh exasperatedly, or cry. No one was there so I don’t have to tell you what I did.

This is especially frustrating at work. My office is in the basement with little natural light. I have a full-spectrum light bulb on my desk, but it is not the same as SUN!

 

I find myself having four or five windows open on my computer, flipping between them, but not getting much done. Or, making my to-do list and then checking email, blogs, facebook, etc. and making excuses not to do my list. Both at home and at work.

More and more of my time has just been sucked away doing nothing.

A week ago I took butter out of the fridge to soften, planning to bake cookies for some friends and neighbors. Then I was too tired, so I put the butter back in the fridge.  That same sad butter has been back and forth, in and out of the fridge all week. And no cookies have been made.

Luckily, one of the blogs finally inspired me a bit. I’ve decided it’s time for a cleanse. Nothing crazy and drastic–“no food, no talking, no fun for a month.” That is just not my style. I have a desire to be more intentional and create more space for the things that nourish me.

I am sick of being so physically tired (I know how common that is among Americans, but it’s really dragging..), wasting time, and not feeling well. I feel embarrassed about my lack of productivity at work.

So, time for more intentionality. I started by changing my facebook settings so I don’t receive email notifications of every little thing going on, clogging my inbox. Next: going through blogroll and email subscriptions and unsubscribing to  ones I do not find useful.

Tomorrow: my fave and I are going to sit down and plan some menus for the week. More veggies (maybe even some new ones!), less dairy, less white grains. We already don’t eat a lot of meat and are very picky about where it comes from.

Breakfast is the hardest for me to not have empty calories and sugar–a bagel, cereal, sugary yogurt  (just looked and realized my favorite blueberry yogurt has 36 grams of sugar!). I would like to do some smoothies (I’ve done lots before with fruit and yogurt or kefir) but this time I want to try with greens. I bought some chia seeds which are very high in protein. (Yes, ch-ch-ch-chia! They are really good for you! I’ll post more about chia this week.)

Any favorite recipes or tips? Especially for breakfast? Or other ways to get healthy protein? Thanks a bunch. I will keep you updated on my next steps.

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Suckers

  1. Mama Drama says:

    This time of winter just sucks the life out of me…..no sun? depression? ADD? kids? snow? Pick a reason! Anyhow – I have found that protein in the am makes a Huge diff. Hard boiled eggs or a cheese stick, 2 scrambled w/ cheese..a meat and cheese sandwich….. that sort of thing….The carbs in cereal and breads and sugary stuff cause me to fizzle or crash. Fresh fruit is nice but doesn’t have enough “fuel” to last long.

  2. Jen says:

    J, I wanted to let you know that you are the recipient of an “I Choose To Live” Award from my blog. There is a description of your blog and a link to it on this page: http://www.suicidalnomore.com/p/i-choose-to-live-awards.html

    If you like the graphic at the top of the page, please feel free to copy it and upload it onto your blog.

    I hope you are okay with the description I wrote. If you feel it is inaccurate, please let me know.

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

