In my best Bing Crosby voice..

Snow….  Snow…. Snow……  SNOW!

I love snow days. Bundle up, make some hot cocoa, and snuggle with the ones you love. In case you missed the news–we got HIT!

Sorry–that’s my mitten, but you can see Bingo trying to make it down our front steps to do his morning rock &  roll.

I don’t like shoveling.  I will procrastinate it like a 12 year old kid. Luckily, Croi doesn’t mind so much. As long as there is cookies and hot cocoa waiting for her. And there always is.

I did help yesterday. We only have one shovel, so I don’t know how helpful I was, but I tried. But watching our neighbors all gather together really moved me.

I see everyone’s yard signs, I know how they vote, where their kids go to school. I know we don’t all agree politically. (2 years ago, our neighbor was putting out a “Latinos for Obama” sign and told me he put it closer to our house than his neighbors on the other side because he knew we wouldn’t feel uncomfortable with it. Made me laugh!) But, here we all were–all faced with this obstacle from mother nature, shoveling & snowblowing cars out one by one. Someone went to knock on doors and explain the plan–we’ll help you move your car now, and then Bob can snowblow where your car was.

It was beautiful.

Croi and Bingo in our back yard.

On a side note–Northeasterners: Where are you putting all of this snow? A neighbor asked if they could store snow IN OUR GARAGE!?! I look around at our piles taller than I am and have more empathy for you!

And then–friends (my favorite neighbors who live across the street and I am so blessed by) came over to eat and watch a movie. Of course, the “On Demand” of stupid T.ime Warn.er Cab.le wasn’t so cooperative. (Re-boot. Let me send some magic signal to your box. Reboot again. Hmm. I don’t know. Did you unplug it and plug it back in? I’ll reboot it. Thanks tech-guy) We were *forced* to make conversation.

For a bit of helpfulness, my snow-day menu:

(I don’t understand the “stock-up before a big snow” mentality. It’s only two days. I have enough food in the house for two weeks!)

*Breakfast–hearty skillets. Frozen hashbrowns if you have ’em, grate potatoes if you don’t. Fry ’em up. Put any veggies–fresh or frozen–that you have in there. I used onion, frozen pepper medley I always have in the freezer, broccoli, garlic, a little chili powder, and spinach. Beat eggs and pour on top. Stir a little so it all cooks. Top with cheese. One pan, hearty for shoveling.

*Lunch–I would usually make a big pot of chili, but our neighbors were coming for lunch and they are vegetarian. I didn’t want to make veggie chili this time. So, I made split pea soup. Warms you up, easy, and for a twist, lots of garam masala or other indian spice. Adds a little more depth if you’re not putting in ham. Favorite neighbor K brought homemade bread with flax.

*Lunch/afternoon snack–These are my famous cookies that I made a double batch of to thank all the shovelers.

3/4 c butter, softened
1/2 c peanut butter
1 c granulated sugar
1/2 c packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 c all purpose flour
2 c rolled oats
1 c or more of add-ins: choc chips, chopped peanuts, sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, whatever you have at your house.
beat butter and peanut butter.
add sugar, brown, sugar, baking powder, and baking soda.
beat.
beat in eggs and vanilla.
beat in flour.
stir in rolled oats and other add-ins
drop on ungreased cookie sheets.
bake at 375 for approx 10 minutes
No pictures because they all went to the shovelers–but I’m not a baker & you can’t mess them up! Have fun with your favorite additions. And you can make it in one big bowl!
Dinner: Baked pasta. Another great way to use a bunch of veggies up!
No movies, but we did manage to curl up and watch American Idol.  What’s up with Steven Tyler? I would be very uncomfortable if my kids were in the room during some of the stuff he says!
Hope you are staying warm out there!
About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In my best Bing Crosby voice..

  1. Carol E. says:

    I LOVE the neighorly camaraderie that happens after a big snowstorm. Sadly, it doesn’t happen here in my little ‘burb. It did when we lived in St. Paul, though.

Leave a Reply

