Great Minds Think Alike?

I’ve had a post in my draft folder for a few days about the incredibly high suicide rate among US Soldiers. More US soldiers were killed by depression than by an enemy last year. Let me repeat that: in the United States of America, more people who have offered to make the ultimate sacrifice were not getting the help they needed while on American soil than were killed in a foreign country. I had a whole post I was working on about what we value, what we keep safe, what that means how we view strength/weakness. But then I saw The Buddhist Blog’s post yesterday.  And after having the same post as Christine yesterday, (Ugh! Embarassing!) I thought I had better just link to the stuff I like before y’all think I’m a big blog-o-copycat.  Anyway, hope you enjoy this well-written piece about the necessity to support all of our troops. All of the time. Not just the ones who live up to our definition of “strong” or what a soldier “really is.”

As I am off to another city on Saturday to help my mother-in-law move, I think that is the message for me. How can I support this woman who doesn’t always fit my definition of what a mother “should” act like. If E. can do it so beautifully, so can I.

If _________ doesn’t fit with my definition of what a _________ should be, how can I still support them?

I’ll be thinking of this phrase a lot over the next few days–filling in employee, friend, etc. What about you?

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Minds Think Alike?

  1. mommie2be says:

    I think the trick is getting rid of the “should be”‘s. Who “should” any of us be anyway? Goodness knows i’m not there yet and have plenty of “should” judgements of my own…but that’s where I want to be heading.

    Best of luck this weekend and thanks always for your sweet words.

Leave a Reply

