The Dreaded Stairs

I have always been a planner. If there was something I wanted to do, or something I thought I “should” do, I would literally take out my pen and paper and start figuring out how I could do it.

When I failed, and ate the temptress ice cream, didn’t walk 3 miles, or slept in, I had many a reason to beat myself up about it. I knew all the reasons why it was good. I had a list of the health benefits right there in black and white.

Croi has long been my favorite because she does not live by that approach.  I am slowly learning from her, and this year, I think I’ve finally embraced it.  When, I am now just thinking about what feels right “for this next step.” The next step isn’t a commitment to walk the whole staircase, or walk the whole staircase every day, but to take one step.  I’ve become a little notorious for this now. I am just going to put in the laundry, but I don’t have to put it in the dryer (90% of the time–I do.) I am just going to walk around the block–not 3 miles, just going to sign up for a sewing class–I don’t have to know what comes next.

But, I forget to make it fun. All of a sudden, I remember, and it is like a lightbulb. Chasing my pup around the yard, I realize I am running. Singing and dancing, I realize I am doing all the dishes.

It’s only a 2 minute video.  But it got me thinking.

The best advertising firm on the planet could have put an ad campaign encouraging taking the stairs for fitness. A motivational speaker could have spoken to everyone about their own power. A coach could have talked about the health benefits of exercise. How effective do you think that would be?

Or–someone made it fun. And 66% more people (some, I think lead by the cool stairs, some inspired by others) chose to take the stairs.

What I am pondering today is what else in my life is like the stairs? Don’t wanna do it. Avoid it. But, if someone (me?) made it fun, maybe I would?

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

