33 days til my Superbowl

Some of you–especially round these parts–are quite excited about the big sporting event in two weeks.  For me, the Oscars have always been where it’s at. I follow along, I root, I cheer.

It always helps get me through some of the shortest days of the year–knowing I have something fun to look forward to every week. Every year, I joke that my New Year’s resolution is to see as many Oscar nominated movies as possible.

This year, I’ve seen 6/10 nominees for Best Picture

*Black Swan–intense, thriller

 

*Inception–so glad I saw it in the theater instead of on our 11 year old tiny TV

*Kids are Allright–there’s another post. Interesting, and relatable.

*King’s Speech–my pick for Best Film, Best Actor. I big bubbly heart Colin Firth. (Have you seen A Single Man?–beautiful story and each frame is so artistic it could be a photograph)

*Winter’s Bone–riveted by the performance and the story, and how little we could imagine living in the Ozarks. L and I talked about how difficult it would be to be an outsider, especially a social services worker.

*Social Network–so interesting. Loved the movie and learned a lot.

I would like to see: *Fighter, 127 Hours, True Grit, and Toy Story 3. If possible, I would also like to see a few more of the movies nominated for Best Actor/Actress roles–Blue Valentine, Rabbit Hole, Biutiful, The Town, 33 Days, Animal Kingdom & Exit Throught the Gift Shop.

 

What are YOU going to be doing to not only get through, but enjoy the dark days ahead?

About EratMama

30 something midwestern gal, married to another 30 something midwestern gal, conquering depression, rockin' foster parent.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 33 days til my Superbowl

  1. mommie2be says:

    This post makes me sad. Pre-kids I was such a movie buff. We went every week and I could have easily talked with you for hours about every single one of those titles. I’m sure I’ll get back there, but for now the only two mentioned that I’ve seen are Kids are Alright (meh, I could take it or leave it) and Toy Story 3 (it scared my 4 year old).

    Enjoy your countdown!

Leave a Reply

